JOW Swap

So one of my xmas presents was I get to do a craft swap… I love craft swaps and they’re not really expensive but since both Mister boy and I are unemployed cash is always tight. This past spring/summer when we had more cash coming in I did several swaps and found them addicitng! I love getting mail and getting cool stuff made for me by a stranger and sent to me is like having a small birthday! Not to mention I love to craft and its fun to do so within a theme for someone else. I stopped doing craft swaps way back in order to prepare for the gifts I was making for christmas for people, and because I couldn’t justify the extra expense of the shipping even though I ship my stuff cheap and don’t participate in out of country swaps I still feel immensely guilty for the cost of shipping, so to make myself feel better for xmas I saved the cost of shipping so I could do a craft swap after the Holidays.

The swap theme is Jar of Whimsies #7 I participated in a past JOW  swap and really enjoyed it so when I saw they were running another one I chose that one. Not sure what a Jar of Whimsies really is? Take a gander at the last one I sent out.

It is filled with all manner of tiny and cute things. Ribbons, feathers, little charms, beads, buttons, flowers, die-cuts, Chinese coins, pressed rose petals, little toys, tiny books… basically anything smallish and cute can go in a Jar of Whimsies.  The great part about it is it is mainly stuff you already have lying around the house in the junk draw collecting dust so it really only costs the shipping to send one which isn’t much as you get the flat rate box and everything is small enough to fit inside.

But that’s not all… there is also a contest for the best “Jar” container that holds the whimsies, see the last entries here! All very impressive and for the record the cake “jar” isn’t a real cake someone made it to look like one which I thought was pretty cool!

The other part of the swap is what I really want to talk about though, you’re supposed to create at least 3 of the whimsies you send in your “jar” and of course you want your container to be awesome so you might win the contest (which is a huuuuuge pack of whimsies in addition to what you get in the swap from the Whimsy Queen who organized the swap).

My Swap partner Mamaphunk said in her swap questionarre that she’s really, really into Matryoshka dolls. Those are those Russian dolls inside of dolls inside of dolls etc. I actually have a beautiful set from Russia that my friend Ulyanna gave me but I wouldn’t part with them so I have been working on my own version…. I think this will be my container for the swap.

It is waaay more adorable in person but it fits with the theme of the dolls inside dolls inside dolls… and I will fill the stocking itself with my little whimsies. The plaid dollies are actually one piece and are a card with a message to my swap partner on the back. I thought it all came out pretty good… personally I am not crazy over the teal and hot pink together but they were listed by my partner as 2 out of her 3 favorite colors and it was the felt I had on hand so I went with it. Hopefully she can use it next Christmas and the front doll on the stocking in case you missed it in the second picture is a pocket with a snap so one could put a gift card in it, the 2nd doll is a gift card holder but as I wasn’t giving a gift card in the swap I just filled it with the plaid dolly card.

I’ll be figuring out what whimsies to make next, luckily I have a lot of supplies and got craftstore gift card so already had purchased supplies I thought I might need before I even signed up for the swap. I can’t wait to see what my partner makes and sends me!

Anyone who is reading this and is interested in the swaps should check out www.craftster.com, specifically the swaps going on area here and the gallery of stuff from swaps that already happened here.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Reen
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 06:19:19

    What a very cool idea. Wish I had this kind of archive for all the needlework and quilts I’ve done. I tried to get the family blog up and a week to see if there was anything on it, but the link has vanished from my computer. Maybe next time I’m home I will bring the digital camera and start an archive of some of the stuff people still have – and ask people if they still want the old stuff (you know, decorating styles change). Can’t imagine Sue keeping some of the old stuff I made her in her Italiam Villa of a new home.

    Reply

  2. slyfoxcrafts
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 10:43:33

    Thanks, Reen! I would love to see some of your old work and if you don’t have room for your camera you can always use one of mine. You really should take pics of your work because its nice to have and important to preserve! I imagine even though decorating styles change things also become heirlooms especially homemade things and I know your work is really good (your cross stitches for instance are beautiful and definitely would qualify as an heirloom piece I bet). I think once I get a solid ground feeling in sewing I’d love to try embroidery or cross stitch myself because the things I have seen people do with them always amazes me and give me craft-jealousy at their skill! Of course I haven’t even been sewing for a year and my sewing addiction has not run its course I am still in love with it (except the cutting part! Or when I don’t understand a critical direction in a pattern!)

    ❤ <— that's the internet symbol for a heart sideways
    Jenn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

