Rainbows, Buttons and Beads, Oh My!

So here is my latest creation (click on pics for bigger views) the actual hanging is done on a 12 – inch embroidery hoop to give you an idea of the size.

I sort of counted the number of beads/buttons for red, orange and yellow but it was over 400+ so I stopped counting lol. Took me about a week of doing it while I watched TV at night, and of course greatly depleted my stash of colored buttons and beads but I think it was worth it!

Questions and comments welcome!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beki
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 16:01:58

    Wow!!! That’s so pretty!! *___* I love all the different shaped buttons. I keep noticing different ones every time I look at it. 😀 I want this for myself but my button stash isn’t near plentiful enough! lol Did you start from the center and work your way outward?

    Reply

  2. slyfoxcrafts
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 17:31:47

    Sorry for the very delayed response… I actually worked from the outside into the center.

    As for button stash building I recommend going to Micheal’s Craftstore they have huge bags of mixed buttons for $5 which is where most of the buttons in mine came from, you can also usually find a 40% off coupon which brings the price down even cheaper :). Also you could use a much smaller embroidery hoop than I did. I used a 12 inch but you could try a 5 inch and it would use much less buttons.

    Reply

  3. Lorraine Makuwerere
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 03:38:21

    I would like to use one of your photographs in an educational book. How can I contact you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

