Embroidery Adventures

So here are my first two embroidered pieces. The fan girl is for a friend to commemorate her bday trip to vegas, the sugar skull is my 1st piece done on a dollar store dishtowel. Always practice on something cheap first!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 09:32:09

    For a beginner you have done a wonderful job. I used to embrioder years ago and haven’t gotten back to it. My grandmother taught me and my cousins when we were young….umm about 40 years ago to embrioder, crochet, collage and quilt. The crochet and quilting I picked up again as an adult, the collage I’m just now getting into but not the embriodery but I expect it will be next. Thanks for visiting my blog and the OWOH event.

    Reply

  2. slyfoxcrafts
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 09:52:36

    Thanks Dana for the encouragement πŸ™‚ I don’t know why embroidery always seemed so daunting to me it’s actually pretty easy to get started though I suspect it will take me a while to master it. I have no issue with french knots but large pieces of satin stitching I am finding hard lol oh well practice makes perfect I guess. Thanks for visiting me and it was lovely to meet you through OWOH so sad this is the last year!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 18:07:57

    Great job on the embroidery, and the inchies. That’s something I haven’t tackled yet! Thanks for stopping by my blog, and keep blogging, you’re work is great.

    Reply

  4. slyfoxcrafts
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 18:19:47

    Hi Laura! Inchies are actually a lot of fun… I really am a more is more kind of girl so I always thought one inch by one inch isn’t enough space for anything l0l, but really it is much more space than I thought. Thanks so much for visiting me and for the encouragement!

    Reply

  5. Shauna Henry
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 20:01:03

    Hi Laura! Thanks for stopping by my blog for my OWOH giveaway!

    I love the burlesque fan dancer you created – so awesome! And I would bet money you have hidden talent for all sorts of arts and crafts πŸ™‚

    Creativity was never encouraged growing up, so this has been a wild ride making dolls. I love it though and would never turn back now!

    Oh and your gnome doodle is so awesome! I love me some gnomes! πŸ™‚

    Shauna

    Reply

  6. slyfoxcrafts
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 20:08:23

    heheh hi Shauna, Laura was actually the person above me I was replying to her. I am Jenn or SlyFoxCrafts, but no worries it is hard to remember all the names when there are so many bloggers to meet! Thanks for the kind comments as I said on your blog your stuff is amazing and inspirational!

    So glad you liked the gnome he was the first one I did and I thought he came out cute!

    Jenn/SlyFox

    Reply

  7. fairyrocks
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 08:08:34

    Pleased to meet you through OWOH , you have a wonderful embroidery hand. Keep smiling and creating

    Reply

  8. Robin
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 11:54:54

    Hi Jennifer! Nice to meet you and so glad you stopped by my blog. Thanks for leaving such a sweet comment. You have a beautiful blog here and your embroidery work is something I so envy. I haven’t embroidered for years and don’t know that I even remember how. The details in your work are simply amazing.

    Hugs,
    Robin

    Reply

  9. Sharon
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:03:43

    Thank you for your sweet words of encouragement and compassion! My son will go in for surgery on Feb 15th. Bless you richly,
    Sharon

    Reply

  10. lutkaandco
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 17:51:38

    Hi Jennifer,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I saw your punch needle efforts – you did a great job. I tried one recently, a amaller owl one, and it did not come out very well. Also, you are one of the few bloggers on wordpress I have encountered. I love your page – how do you get the menu bar to look transparent? Is it a custom blog, or did you do it yourself? I’d like to update/improve the look of my blog, but wordpress to me feels very restricted. Thanks!
    Linda

    http://lutkaandco.com/

    Reply

  11. Loredana
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 13:43:04

    Have a nice time. Loredana

    Reply

  12. Michelle
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:32:59

    Hey, I love these embroidered pieces. Also love the owls on your other post. Thanks so much for visiting my cyber-home! Michelle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

